client testimonials

"Thank you for your skill, your care, your calm demeanor and wisdom. You are such a great fit for our daughter and she has felt well-cared for in both a professional and personal way, and as her mother, I, too, am so appreciative."

G.R.

Mother of Emeryville buyer

"Once again I am awe struck by the intimacy of the client-agent relationship, how well and attentively you were able to listen to what I was looking for in this process, and how you ensured that what was most important to me always remained at the center of our search and strategy. Your kindness, your calm, and your patience were the quiet but steady forces that supported us throughout this process, and your experience and insight allowed us to succeed. You have my admiration and gratitude."

K.D.

Emeryville buyer

"We never hesitate to recommend Sheri to any of our friends and family who are looking for an agent. We have known her for over 10 years and have now both purchased (twice) and sold a home with her. She provides sound guidance and will take on the role you want her to take on. She knows the market, knows what to do to sell effectively, and she kept us on track. But the best part is how easy - actually delightful - she is to spend time with and to communicate with. She is straightforward, exudes integrity, and is kind. She’s a great realtor!


"

Betsy and Robin

Berkeley sellers

"We are so pleased to have had Sheri as our realtor. When she first met with us during our process of selecting a realtor, we were clear: Sheri would be a great fit for us. Sheri is very organized and available. At every step along the way, she is present and responsive. She knows her business and understands all the players— from the hopeful buyers, to the other realtors, the stagers, the mortgage brokers, the title company, and, of course, the hopeful sellers.



Sheri is calm, confident , honest and strategic. She helped us get a good price, yet at the same time, she was cognizant of the what the market would bear and how buyers might respond to our negotiations. When the sale closed, everyone involved felt that the process had been smooth and fair.

We heartily recommend Sheri to anyone either selling or purchasing a home in this area. She is a person whom we trust and admire, and we now consider to be a friend."

K.L.

Albany seller

"Once we decided to sell, it felt like a huge undertaking... with overriding pressure to arm ourselves with all the knowledge of the current market in order to make the best possible choices. But here’s the thing: as it turned out, there was really only one choice that mattered. And that was choosing to work with Sheri Madden, a seasoned pro who knows the market, the process, the agents, the lenders, the stagers, the neighborhoods, and most importantly, us, and what we needed to navigate each step, from start to finish, seemlessly. And wow, what a finish. She is a respected negotiator among her colleagues, which was the key to putting us way over the top of our expectations. Thank you, Sheri, for minimizing our effort and stress, and maximizing our investment.
"

K. B.

Albany seller

"Sheri is wonderful to work with! We found her through a friend when we first began our home search in Berkeley. She listened carefully to our needs, proactively checked out houses on our behalf, and shared her wise expertise freely whenever needed. When we put in an offer, she was instantly available throughout the entire process and made it all seem easy. When our lender fell through once we were in contract (eek!) she was able to put us in touch with a lender who was just as awesome as she is, and we experienced no other problems all through escrow and close -- Sheri was on top of every detail! Then, after we moved in and found various issues we hadn't known about before, she continued to help us by seeking resolution with the sellers, connecting us with a great handyman, etc.

At every step of the way, I have felt like I was in wonderful hands. I highly recommend Sheri to anyone who is searching for their new home in the East Bay -- she's absolutely wonderful!
"

J & C

Berkeley buyers

"I just sold my first home. Never having done this, it was important to me that I pick the person who I felt would be right for me. I interviewed two other realtors, both clearly professional and highly competent - and when I met with Sheri, I knew she was the right fit. She was direct, straightforward and very specific about what she could deliver as my realtor. I felt like I was having a conversation with her, one where it was clear that it was an opportunity to get to know her rather than being pitched a service. I chose her on the spot.

When the wheels went into motion around the sale, Sheri was always available to me to answer questions, provide me with experts who did everything from general carpentry to electrical wiring to home inspection. She guided and was at least 10 steps ahead of me at every turn. She did everything from buy curtain rods and curtains to better show the living room, to holding my hand over the phone when the emotional stress of leaving my home of nearly 12 years was overwhelming. I'm not sure how she has a personal life, but I believe she does.

The stagers she helped me find did a beautiful job. The photographer made the house shine online. Sheri managed two weekends of packed open houses with ease and delight. The house sold at 34% over the asking price. I recommend Sheri with the utmost admiration, respect and awe at who she is and what she does.


"

K. E. F.

Oakland seller

"We have now worked with Sheri Madden over the course of two purchases and one sale in Berkeley in less than 5 years and can say without a doubt she is the best realtor we could have ever imagined working with. We have met dozens of agents over the years through different purchases and searches and Sheri has proven time and again that whom you work with makes a huge difference in your outcome. We have seen this in friends who spend years looking and offering and when they find a skilled agent their luck "somehow" changes. With Sheri we bought our first house on our first offer in 2013 and our second on our second offer after only 2 months of looking in the tightest buyers market imaginable at the end of 2017, and not because we were advised to bid too high or take risks, but because Sheri is incredibly skilled at setting goals and expectations and getting houses for her clients. She listened attentively to what we wanted both times and was realistic but positive, even in a very tough buyers market. She set expectations but never discouraged ours, even if they were lofty. We knew after the first purchase that Sheri is not in this for the sale or to close a deal, she is in this for her clients' happiness long term. She knows every listing and its pros and cons; she knew what was important to us and would always run that list in her mind when recommending a property to see. She also knew exactly what price point a house would sell for and was very realistic about what we should expect. She was also a life- saver with a difficult first close, advocating every step of the way when dealing with challenging lenders and working with listing agents on terms. She personally delivered our second offer to the listing agent, making it very clear how serious we were and securing that deal for us.
I didn't think Sheri could be better as a seller’s agent but she was far better in this role than ever imaginable. She took over the sale of our property and saw the potential immediately. She set realistic goals but was also direct about what needed to be done to get the price we wanted. To this end, she coordinated everything for the preparation. One can and should expect a listing agent to have contacts for things and coordinate the process; however Sheri did more than that. She was at our house daily coordinating everything, personally scrubbing windows and sweeping floors. She ran everything by us and was extremely transparent and cost conscious while at the same time making the house look beautiful for sale. It exceeded everyone's expectations, and the offers we received were beyond even her highest goals. This was all due to her hard work. In the closing process we dealt with several additional challenges. Sheri worked tirelessly with the lenders bank, calling daily and advocating for us and demonstrating again why whom you choose as a realtor matters. Other realtors could just give up once an offer is accepted. Not Sheri. She got us extra services that we needed in a pinch, has an endless supply of skilled contacts for every single thing one needs, from gardeners to lawyers to engineers.
Sheri is not the typical real estate agent in any way, she truly loves houses and loves her clients. She is not in this to score just deal or a sale or a buy, even though she is extremely skilled at getting those things. She is in this to find her clients a home they will love and to get them the price they want for a house they no longer need. Any success she has is extremely well deserved and any client she has is truly lucky to secure her as their agent.




"

Tami and Alan

Berkeley sellers and buyers

"Sheri Madden was a professional and kind, responsive and thoughtful partner in the adventure of selling our East Bay home. She was recommended by a mutual professional friend, and far exceeded the accolades they offered. Our need to sell came on short notice, after being offered the opportunity of a lifetime to relocate for a dream job. We’d never sold a home before and had little idea of what we were getting into—especially in the Bay Area market at the end of the calendar year. Sheri was a true professional from the first minute. She immediately put us at ease by explaining the process, showing us comps in our neighborhood and confidently connecting us with several valuable contacts to make minor improvements that increased the appeal — and eventually the sale price— of our home. In our rush to prepare the house for staging, Sheri rallied to work with our tight timeline and pulled her team of photographers, stagers, arborists and more to make for a successful marketing phase. In the end, we had nineteen offers and sold our home for far more than we dreamed of. Luck? Maybe. Timing? Perhaps. Excellent representation? Definitely. We recommend Sheri to any and all who are looking for a committed, responsive and thoughtful partner in your real estate journey in the Bay Area. - Crystal and Zack Simons, sold December 2017
"

Crystal and Zack Simons

Richmond Annex sellers

"Sheri,
Your job doesn't seem like an easy one to me-an effective agent must be an improbable combination of a savvy financial -markets predictor, a patient teacher to new bewildered buyers, and a kind and compassionate interpreter of human tastes and moods. Somehow, though, you manage to be all of these, and to do it with steadiness and grace. I am lucky to have you at my side, or rather, leading the way."

Katy

Oakland buyer

"November 14, 2017

My husband and I highly recommend Sheri Madden as your realtor. We needed to sell our parents' home and did not live in the Contra Costa County area. We were overwhelmed with planning and preparing the home for sale.
From our initial meeting with Sheri, she impressed us as someone who is very knowledgeable in the real estate market. She was very personable, caring and attentive to details. She sat down with us and spoke about painting, lighting, flooring, various repairs, gardening, design staging, and marketing of the house. She contacted and coordinated meetings with several highly talented professionals to prepare our home for sale.
We especially liked her skill set on up to date technology. She kept us well informed by cell phone, e-mail, text messages, immediate online DocuSign paperwork and even provided an alarm app for security during the sale of our home. She was prompt in communicating issues at hand and sending reminders of date sensitive paperwork to be signed.
Sheri kept us well informed and assisted with marketing evaluation and pricing of the house that turned out to be better than what we expected. Once we placed our home up for sale, Sheri was able to sell the house in two weeks!
My husband and I are very pleased to recommend Sheri Madden to anyone looking to sell or buy a home. In our opinion, she is very professional and one of the best in the business of real estate.

"

Stephen and Maria Parker

El Cerrito sellers

"Sheri was an amazing real estate agent. She is extremely knowledgeable about homes, markets, neighborhoods and the ins and outs of buying and selling a home in the high stakes bay area housing market. Sheri's understanding of the east bay real estate market helped us find a house that met our requirements, helped us price our bid to win, all while staying within our budget. Sheri's knowledge enabled us to negotiate intelligently and successfully with our counterparty. Sheri also empowered us to make our own decisions--she never pushed us in one direction or the other, and was extremely respectful of our needs and wants.

Sheri is also very calm, collected and extremely professional. Purchasing a home can be a stressful process, but Sheri keeps it cool and that helped us stay relaxed during the buying process. Sheri is very hard working, and very responsive.
"

Josh and Leora

Oakland buyers

"We cannot recommend Sheri strongly enough. My wife and I had been home hunting in the Berkeley area for more than a year before we met her. And after we did, things took a turn for the better. Sheri is a dream to work with: incredibly responsive, even-keeled, and a great listener. Her good relationships with other realtors may have been the key for us having a winning bid. And, once we got into contract, she became our strong advocate, negotiating a price reduction when there were some aspects of the house that were different than advertised. As first-time home buyers, we had a steep learning curve and Sheri expertly guided us through the whole process with patience and perseverance. If you want to be in excellent hands for perhaps the largest financial transaction of your life, get in touch with Sheri!"

Eli and Savanna

Berkeley buyers

"“Sheri is efficient, clear, and dedicated. She cut through our first-time-buyer's hemming-and-hawing to hear what we were really looking for and found it in record time. Even though we hadn't officially partnered with her yet, Sheri still thought of us and reached out when she toured a home that fit all our subtle asks. At the time we were concerned we weren't going to find anything in the market and considering not searching at all. Sheri's spot-on find pulled us out of our rut. It the first and only home we saw, and thanks to Sheri, now it's ours!

Even after we were in contract, Sheri continued to care for us throughout our purchasing process. When delays came up on the seller's side, Sheri went out of her way to help us stay on our moving timelines, and more than once ran across town to help us assess details of the home. She was patient and helpful throughout!“"

Stefanie and Matt

Oakland buyers

"Sheri’s calm confidence, integrity and professionalism combined with her easy-going nature and warm friendliness eased the stress that can come with selling a home. Sheri went the extra mile every day to help make the process go smoothly. She did everything from finding the right people to do the work to get the house ready for sale, including a specialty tile roofer, genius electrician and phenomenal gardener, to hunting down the perfect light bulb, and helping me keep up with watering the yard. Sheri listened to all my concerns, answered all my questions and clearly explained every step of the process. Sheri’s efforts resulted in multiple offers after a one weekend open house. I cannot imagine having a better real estate agent to help me sell my home than Sheri Madden.
"

Gloria

Berkeley seller

"Selling and moving is stressful but working with Sheri made it so much easier. What we loved about working with Sheri was how organized she was. She helped us set up a timeline of all the tasks we needed to complete to prepare, stage, and sell our house and sent us gentle reminders to make sure we were on track. Sheri makes sure that none of the important details are missed and has the experience to know what works needs to be done and what work does not before staging your home, which saved us from spending money or time making unnecessary improvements. Sheri also has wonderful and trustworthy recommendations for stagers, home inspectors, carpet cleaners and numerous other services you may need when prepping to sell your home. This was our first time selling a home and Sheri guided us during each step of the process no matter how small. Lastly, with Sheri we got an offer that exceeded our expectations!
"

Caitlin and Alex

Oakland sellers

"We were looking to make the transition from San Francisco to Berkeley to give our family room to grow. We spent [five years?] looking and off again and Sheri was with us that whole time! She was a gentle guide - never pushy and always patient. Once we had two young ones, it was hard to spend much time running from place to place. Luckily, we had Sheri. Through talking with us and working together she learned exactly what we wanted. I knew that if she suggested we look at a place, it was worth seeing. When the time came to make an offer, she was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She was there past closing to answer any questions and provide advice. We found a gem of a home that we couldn't be more thrilled with. We would recommend Sheri to anyone.
"

Heather and Apurva

Berkeley buyers

"We interviewed four other realtors prior to meeting with Sheri. She made it an easy choice. The process of selling the property seemed very complicated but Sheri's knowledgeable guidance has been reassuring from the beginning. She was able to anticipate and answer our multiple questions. All of the professionals that she referred us to have been highly skilled and efficient. We were delighted with the outcome of the team effort that she managed. The house was pulled together beautifully when it went on the market and we had several offers above our dream price! We are in awe of Sheri’s work."

M and D

Berkeley sellers

"Sheri was our buyer’s agent when we moved to Berkeley seven years ago, and we loved working with her. She had detailed knowledge of the East Bay market and practical advice. When jobs changed and we had to move out of state, it was a no-brainer; we asked Sheri work with us again to sell our home.

We started meeting with Sheri early in the process. She had cost-effective suggestions to increase our property value, and an excellent set of contractor connections, which we took advantage of multiple times. When it was time to put our home on the market, Sheri meticulously kept track of every detail to make sure it was perfect. We felt entirely comfortable leaving the final touches and showing in her hands!

Throughout the process, Sheri provided sage advice on every issue. She was easy to work with and always reachable for questions or discussion. The end result for us was 16 offers and the successful sale of our home! We highly recommend Sheri for anyone looking to buy or sell in the East Bay."

Scott and Erin

Berkeley sellers

"We recently sold our home in Oakland under Sheri's direction. Sheri made the process of selling so easy! She helped us - calmly and professionally - along every step of the way. The result was that we made a very nice profit, beyond our expectations. She knew exactly what steps to take and when, and she helped us price our home competitively enough so that it sparked a great deal of interest. Her advice about pre-work and staging were reasonable and smart. Sheri has a great deal of knowledge about the Berkeley/Albany/Oakland market; and she would be a great asset to anyone who hires her. She is honest and reliable, and will represent you in the very best way that she can. We Highly recommend her!"

C and W

Oakland sellers

" Sheri is calm, honest, reliable and professional.
She is also very nice. Her knowledge of the real estate
market is obvious. Sheri is willing
to help in all matters, makes you feel confident she will
do her job, and gives you the best advice available.
I appreciated that it was very easy to get a hold of her,
that she was always prompt at every meeting, every one,
and that she was super well organized.
It was a learning experience for me, and I realized how
much needed to be done before actually selling my home.
I would give her a 10 out of 10!
When they
give away the award for best of the best Realtors,
it will be your name engraved on the loving cup !"

M.C.

El Cerrito seller

"Sheri,

You’ve been at this job a long time. Experience goes a long way. You are the best. Thank you.
"

PA

El Cerrito buyer

"A number of years ago, Sheri Madden of Marvin Gardens represented us in the sale of two properties. We were 100% pleased with her work and engaged her again in October, 2016, to help us purchase a home in the East Bay. She is very knowledgeable about and skilled in navigating the competitive waters of the East Bay real estate market! With her guidance, we made an offer on only one home and it was accepted. Sheri works incredibly hard, is always available, and is totally organized. Her attention to detail is impeccable. Her communication skills are excellent. Her advice is given wisely and is always calming. She is the consummate professional in her field. We would recommend her without hesitation. "

J & B

Oakland buyers

"Sheri Madden worked with us in the autumn of 2016 as we searched for a home in the East Bay. As we were moving from the Boston area, we were unfamiliar with the California real estate laws, customs and norms. Sheri was able to answer all of our questions – in fact she anticipated most of our questions and provided clear and accurate information whenever we needed it. Sheri quickly got to know what we were looking for in a property, including what compromises we were willing to make, then she worked tirelessly to research properties on our behalf. She is very familiar with the many neighborhoods we looked at in Berkeley, Oakland, El Cerrito and Richmond.

We toured many homes with Sheri and were consistently impressed with her knowledge. She provided sound advice while remaining objective and encouraging us to make the best decisions for us. Ultimately she helped us find a wonderful home. As we navigated the offer and home purchase processes, Sheri was always there for us – responding promptly to calls and emails and finding answers to a myriad of questions. We feel so fortunate that we found Sheri to help us find a home here in California. She is knowledgeable, experienced, perceptive and responsive. She is also a lovely and kind person and we enjoyed her company during the course of our house hunting.
"

C & T

Berkeley buyers

"We were diligent in finding a realtor we knew we could trust--an imperative in the frenzy of the Bay Area real estate market. We sought someone with expertise and integrity in every step of the process, and we feel so fortunate to have found Sheri.

As we searched for our home, Sheri relentlessly had our best interests at heart. Neither my husband nor I have ever met an agent who operated as such a fiduciary. She is patient, attentive, easily accessible, and very calm, and navigates the home buying process from beginning to end with professionalism, kindness and ease. Sheri's knowledge of all components of real estate is exceptional. We honestly wouldn't want to visit a prospective home with anyone else. She sees everything!

The daunting pursuit of purchasing a home in this market turned out to be a real pleasure with Sheri. Her access to off market listings was terrific, and we know confidently that she is the very reason we were successful in buying our dream house in a market we were unsure we could get into. The integrity and skill Sheri brings to the tremendous endeavor of buying a home is unparalleled. She worked very hard for us, as I sense she does for all of her clients. We can't recommend her highly enough."

C & J

Berkeley buyers

"Working with Sheri Madden to sell my house this past summer was an absolute pleasure from start to finish. She and I had worked together before (when I bought the house, my first, a few years ago), and she was my natural first choice for going through the whole process of fixing up the house and putting it on the market. One of the things I like most about Sheri is her enthusiasm and care for the houses she takes on, and her attention to detail. She quickly put together a plan for renovations – including kitchen, bathroom, painting, landscape and staging – and it was all beautifully finished within a few weeks; she went by nearly every day to see the progress and make sure everything necessary was done. Sheri is incredibly well-informed, and knew what we could expect at every stage of the process, from deciding on the price, to selecting among the multiple bids that came in, to final closing. And I have to say, she did it all with a warmth and humor that was very reassuring.
"

K.O.

El Cerrito seller

"We will always be grateful that you stuck with us during our endless search for a forever home. We were already in awe of your knowledge about all things Berkeley Hills real estate, but when we were finally ready to dive in, you blew us out of the water with your formidable transaction skills. Thanks for helping us negotiate a win-win offer during the most intense intense week-end of our lives. You proved that there is no better advocate for a buyer in this crazy market than a realtor who is respected by her peers and understands the sellers’ perspective. Thanks, as well, for guiding us through the frantic weeks until closing, and for remaining calm, pragmatic, helpful, and incredibly kind in the midst of the hurricane. Completely trusting your judgment and integrity made it possible for us to take the huge but joyful leap into a house we loved at first sight.

your fans"

N & A

Kensington buyers

"It has been an incredible gift to have you as our realtor!
Thank you so much for calmly and expertly guiding us all through this process. We are so grateful to you for all of your support and assistance. The Berkeley house really is a dream come true."

S.F. & C.R.

Berkeley buyers

"Sheri was absolutely terrific. She was knowledgeable, available, and pleasant to work with. She always provided research to back up her pricing predictions and involved us in decisions we needed to be involved in, but took the items off our plate that didn’t demand our attention. She made what could have been a very stressful process so easy, and was right there with us the entire time. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for an agent.
"

H.S.

Oakland seller

"In short, Sheri is a rock star real estate agent. She helped us buy our house back in 2008 and she was the only person we considered to help us sell it. She walked us through the process, explained the market and, laid out the right strategies to get a string of offers for our home. She knows the right people to get things done and has an eagle eye for making sure everything is perfect. She's our hero. Thank you, Sheri!
"

Shailushi and Justin

Richmond View Sellers

"Hello Sheri,

I wanted to take a moment to share with you my deepest appreciation for the professional service you provided during the listing and subsequent sale of my " Aunt's " property. Your patience and sensitivity to my special concerns was heartfelt and kind. You were always available for my many questions and provided answers that made me comfortable with and trusting of the process. Your scheduling of the; repairs, painting, staging, and the Open Houses was very efficient and effective. Simply stated, your hard work produced outstanding results for me and members of my family. Anyone that comes to me with a need for a realtor will receive your name. Thank's so much!!
"

Dr. Alan Young

Berkeley seller

"May 21, 2016
Dear Sheri,
We want to thank you so much for all of the advice, planning, marketing and execution of the prompt sale of our estate house at a price which we had not even dreamed of seeing.
Your advice turned out to be spot on for what repairs and improvements we should do to the house, developing our improvement budget, assisting in color selection and staging with your stager, and keeping us on schedule to be able to market the house! You really got us more than the “best bang for our buck.”. Then your marketing our final product really brought the buyers in!
We really placed our trust in you, and you more than delivered. I felt you were our partner all along in this. I would be glad to offer my cell phone contact information to anyone looking researching realtors, and considering using you. Please consider us as a reference.
Thank you again.

"

Russell and Judy, co-trustees

Richmond, N & E sellers

"Sheri recently helped us with the sale of our house in El Cerrito, and we can't thank her enough for everything she did! It was a challenging process for us, but Sheri made it happen. We were selling a house we had been renting for the past several years. Since we were not living in the area during the sale process (and this was our first time selling a house), we relied on Sheri for everything. And she consistently went above and beyond for us! Sheri knows the area and the market extremely well. She listened to our concerns and was patient with all of our questions. When we needed to have unexpected work done at the very last minute, Sheri managed to get 2 quotes in less than 24 hours, and got the work done on an emergency basis for us so that the closing wasn't held up. Ultimately, thanks to Sheri and her expertise, we received multiple offers on our house and we were thrilled with the outcome. We recommend her wholeheartedly to anyone looking for an experienced and knowledgeable realtor in the area!
"

J and J

El Cerrito sellers

"Sheri helped us when we purchased our house, and also later when we sold it. In both cases, we felt tremendously blessed to be able to work with such a knowledgeable and experienced professional! Sheri is a great negotiator, knows her business, and works for her clients in an honest and ethical way. Her wealth of knowledge on all aspects of the process and her intelligent organized manner made for a very positive experience. Sheri is always calm, kind and positive, and works diligently to attend to and follow through on every detail and every aspect of the transaction.
We think you are the best and believe everyone should have you as their agent.

"

E. and C.

Berkeley sellers

"Sheri Madden was our agent for the purchase of a sweet, little house in Richmond in March 2016. Sheri was an outstanding agent and most helpful in our search and purchase.

Sheri is very knowledgeable about the neighborhoods and helped us decide where to concentrate our search. She listened carefully to our needs and preferences, conscientiously scouted properties in advance and directed us to those that met our needs and budget, saving us time and frustration. She knows how to assess a property and recognizes differences between correctible items and major shortcomings. She patiently led us through a couple of rejected offers before the successful one. Once we found a property of interest, Sheri provided accurate, current and insightful analyses. Her professional contacts from financing sources to inspectors and craftsmen are an added bonus.

Thank you, Sheri
"

Marty and Maria

Richmond, North and East

"If you are in need of a realtor to buy or sell a home, Sheri Madden is an excellent choice. Sheri recently helped me sell my house in North and East Richmond. The process could not have gone more smoothly and the outcome was fantastic. I was prepared to be bouncing off the walls with anxiety and it just never happened. Sheri’s calm demeanor set the tone for the entire process.

Sheri listens to your needs, makes suggestions when appropriate and designs a plan to move forward according to your schedule. Whether coordinating inspections or scheduling needed repairs, painting, gardening, staging, or a deep house cleaning in order to put your home’s best face forward, Sheri’s extensive list of affordable resources can’t be beat.

Sheri has your property professionally photographed and her marketing is top notch. I received comments from friends and family near and far concerning Sheri’s marketing brochure for my property. They had never seen anything like it. A good friend and former real estate agent commented on the brochure for my property, “This is top notch promotional material. Sheri is an absolute professional; she’s a keeper!”

It was my great pleasure to work with and I highly recommend Marvin Garden’s Sheri Madden for all of your real estate needs.
"

D.W.

Richmond N&E seller

"Thank you, Sheri. I really appreciate how calm you are. Your ability to listen, allow us to work through our issues and give us input were invaluable to me.
"

Buyer

El Cerrito

"Sheri,
Thanks so much for your help with the purchase of my new home and the sale of my old home. You were a tremendous resource in all sorts of ways and I am so grateful for your diligence, professionalism, thoroughness and attention to detail, and wise counsel. You were always prompt, responsive and very clear in your communications and your recommendations were consistently "spot on." I really appreciated your willingness to take care of so many different things throughout the process, which greatly reduced the stress and burden on me. Everything turned out better than I could have hoped on the sale of my house and everything went so smoothly on the purchase side -- all due to your efforts and good advice, I believe. In short, you were fantastic!
Thank you!
"

Buyer and Seller

Berkeley

"Thank you so much for helping me sell the house so quickly. I now see the value in your recommendation to inspect the house before marketing it. Everything worked out so smoothly and you made the experience so effortless on my part."

SR, seller

Kensington

"Thank you so much Sheri. I very much second everything my mom says. You are amazing. Your negotiating skills, advice, taste in houses and ability to keep all the moving parts organized made such a difference."

JS, Buyer

Oakland

"Thank you so much for guiding us through this complicated process with such skill and thoughtfulness .
Your advice and management was most reassuring . "

JS, Parent of buyer above

Oakland

"My husband and I are first time home buyers and were fairly green when it came to the whole process of home ownership. We were referred to Sheri through a friend and could not have been more pleased with the results. We felt like Sheri really had our backs the entire time and went above and beyond what many real estate agents would have done to us. She was easy to talk to, very straightforward, and always available for questions and feedback. We now own a home in Richmond and couldn't be happier with how the process played out. We highly recommend Sheri and will definitely use her again in the future if needed.
"

Liz & John

Richmond buyers

"Thanks Sheri. You made the whole process so easy and smooth. It was so much less stressful than I expected (although more emotional than I expected). I'm really glad my friend urged me to get in contact with you. It was a pleasure to work with you. Although it's unlikely we'll be selling a house again any time soon, if it happens, we'll be in touch. I'll be referring my friends in the meantime!
"

Alisa and Nate

El Cerrito sellers

"Sheri is an outstanding agent. I didn’t have an agent when I first began looking for houses in the Bay area, and when I called multiple listing agents in the area requesting a viewing of their houses most never called me back. Sheri was the exception and actually answered her cell phone. Even though she was accepting offers the next day and it was unlikely I would be able to make an offer in that time, she graciously agreed to show me her listing that afternoon. When I met with her, I was impressed by her kindness and professionalism. She answered my questions about the house in a direct, informative, helpful way. I also noticed how attentive she was about keeping the house in a pristine, attractive state for viewing and remembered thinking that the seller was lucky to have her as his agent. That very same evening, I asked a close friend in Berkeley who his agent was, and he told me Sheri Madden. He had nothing but praise for Sheri, and after my own very positive interaction with her, I was convinced that Sheri would be a great agent.

I have no regrets. Sheri has been a highly capable, diligent, and effective agent throughout the daunting process of buying a home in this frenzied market. She is the ideal agent: calm, scrupulous, ethical, assertive. She has an intimate knowledge of the East Bay real estate market and helped us put together a competitive offer that was accepted over a higher offer. During the closing process, she took the initiative in making sure we were on schedule to reach the closing date. She also helped us get some last-minute work done on the house that was required by our appraiser. She has been considerate and generous every step of the way in giving us her time and expertise. Sheri is a reliable, trusted agent with whom others—buyers, sellers, and agents—want to work with, and I enthusiastically recommend her without reservation.

-


"

FH

El Cerrito buyer

""We partnered with Sheri to buy our house 12 years ago and we just recently listed the same house with her. I can't even begin to explain how awesome she was. We followed her instructions on prepping the house and to our absolute amazement we got 30% over our asking price. We were shocked! She was there every step of the way and had an army of affordable service providers ready to perform any task she requested. Her knowledge of our particular area was also invaluable. I highly recommend working with Sheri. She is calm, easy going, experienced, thorough, professional and funny. We feel blessed to have found her!""

Andy and Eric

Richmond, North & East sellers

""If you're looking for an agent to sell your home choose Sheri. She was very knowledgeable and professional during the planning stage and preparation of the home prior to it being placed on the market. She arranged for and managed all the preparation work and there was nothing for me to do except decide on the options presented. The work she arranged was done very well and in a timely manner. The best part was that after we had done the preparation and put it on the market we received multiple offers and closed in 14 days. I want to stress the "we" because I feel that Sheri and I did this together. Based on my experience working with Sheri I would highly recommend her to be your agent for the sale of your home."

"

Patrick M.

El Cerrito seller

"Our experience working with Sheri Madden was very positive. She went above the call of duty in helping us sell our home in El Cerrito and would recommend her to our friends."

John and Anita

El Cerrito sellers

""You are a dream to work with and the trust I have in your opinions and skill set surpasses all expectations; you make real estate less daunting than I ever imagined.""

Medha

Oakland buyer

"
When I considered selling my house, I interviewed a couple of realtors. I chose Sheri over others due to her detail oriented personality and good listening skills.

I was very impressed by her consistently prompt responses and excellent choices of contractors and vendors. My house looked fabulous by the time it got to the market. It was way beyond what I expected.

I like how Sheri handled the process. She was flexible and made adjustments as needed. Her thorough and complete disclosure approach paid off. We had an extremely smooth sale as soon as we got in the contract. We closed in 21 days!
No question and /or problem was too big or too small. Sheri calmly responded to all of them. She is a hard worker and has worked above and beyond her contractual duty.

I value Sheri’s experience, professionalism, friendliness and timely communication style. I see Sheri as an excellent agent for sellers or buyers.

Suk-King
"

Suk-King

El Cerrito seller

"Sheri began working with us over two years ago, January 2012. I came to her via recommendations from parents at El Cerrito Preschool Cooperative. She was very responsive right from the start. I work full time and was looking for someone who would be able to accommodate my schedule, doing a lot of the correspondence via email. Sheri began sending me houses to look at. At that time, each house received about 10-12 offers all $150,000 above the asking price. Mentally I was unable to handle that type of market and asked to take a break from looking. Then periodically I would check in with her to see how the market was doing. Sheri was very accommodating to this. December 2013, we decided to dive in again and to start looking. Sheri, would send us listings, we’d go see the house, check in with her for her recommended offer amount. She’s very much on target in her recommendations when you compare her recommended number against the final sold number. Sheri is very professional and prompt.
We put in a few offers and lost them and were feeling a bit dejected again. Then she called to say, someone in her office has a house that the sellers do not want listed and that we may want to go take a look at it. Lucky for us, the sellers accepted our offer and the rest is history. Through it all, Sheri was very honest to us about what a competitive offer is, what we are up against, she provided her recommendations based on her experience. Her recommended offer was always on target that I was comfortable to use her recommended offer amount. I highly recommend Sheri to anyone who needs a realtor as well as will not hesitate to call her up again when we need a realtor.
"

C and D

El Cerrito buyers

"Sheri Madden's impeccable communication style, knowledge of the east bay housing market and honesty helped us turn a stressful time into a pleasurable experience.

Sheri listened to and honored all our requests and concerns with clarity and honesty, which in turn helped us further develop a stronger sense as home buyers. Her detailed communication style allowed us to understand the larger picture and make decisions with confidence. Sheri was very knowledgeable and we always felt like we had a friend there helping us decide what was best for us. She gave her opinion when necessary, but made sure that we were the ones making the decisions. Furthermore, we could not be happier with Sheri's professional follow through. It was not often that Sheri could not answer her phone when we called with questions. Should she have to, she would always return our call or email within the hour. Once we found our dream home and proceeded with an offer and escrow, Sheri kept the communication between multiple key players flowing. She would often send us reminder emails and messages to ensure that we stayed on target with deadlines.

Sheri exceeded our expectations in every detail and helped us find the right house without any problems. We couldn't have had a better experience purchasing our first home. We appreciate Sheri's professionalism and recommend her without hesitation.


"

Claudia and Sijesh

Walnut Creek buyers

"Thank goodness I had Sheri by my side while buying my first house. I felt her wisdom and experience every step of the way, from making an offer to the inspection process, to countless critical details I didn't have the awareness or bandwidth to take care of. Her responsiveness and guidance were a great source of comfort. I got a great house at a good price and have Sheri to thank for it!
"

John K.

Oakland buyer

"I am writing to express my gratitude for having the pleasure of working with Sheri Madden during the sale (6/12/14) of my home in Berkeley, California. Sheri exemplifies all the qualities of an outstanding realtor including the following: Honesty, integrity, dedication, loyalty, trust and expert knowledge of the entire process. However, what sets her apart from other realtors with whom I have worked is her ability to listen and be respectful of clients' needs. She made selling my house a tolerable experience because of her paradigm of promoting an awareness that the success of an adventure depends on working together to reach a common goal.""

Lynda L.

Berkeley seller

"May 14, 2014

Marvin Gardens
Attn: Sheri Madden
7502 Fairmount Ave
El Cerrito, CA 94530

Dear Sheri,

We want to take this opportunity to THANK YOU for finding us such a wonderful home in the Richmond Annex. Currently living in Connecticut, looking for a home near our daughter, son-in-law and grandson seemed like an overwhelming task. Their recommendation of you as our real estate agent was exactly what we needed to make this purchase a reality. You made the entire process one of the easiest and most pleasant experiences we’ve ever had and we couldn’t have done it without you.

You were always available to answer our questions whether by telephone or email, and with the 3-hour time difference, that was not an easy task. We had not bought a house in over 35 years, much less one that was 3,000 miles away. Your attention to every detail was remarkable in every way and allowed us to complete the home buying process in less than 30 days.

We also appreciate you taking the time to provide us with the names and phone numbers of people and local government agencies we will need to interact with going forward. It will make the transition from the east coast to the west coast that much easier.

We can’t thank you enough and hope you will stop by and see us after we’ve had a chance to settle in and add our own personal touches to this property. We look forward to that time and to living in the Richmond Annex near our family and new friends.

Warmest Regards,

Alice & Brian Facente
"

B & A

Richmond Annex buyers

"To Whom it may concern:

Sheri Madden recently helped me sell a home for which I was the trustee. She guided me through the
process of preparing the home for sale, with utmost skill, and seamlessly coordinated a myriad of
tradespeople and inspectors. Her excellent marketing resulted in outstanding results; hundreds
attended the open house and we received 13 offers on the property. Sheri carefully and thoroughly
helped me analyze the results of the offers, so that I had all the information necessary to make
the best choice possible. She communicated almost daily about the transaction and calmly prepared
me for each step and any possible challenge that we might have encountered.
She maintained my expectations throughout. I am thrilled with the results of sale and would
recommend Sheri without reservation.





"

Richard J. Lee

Berkeley seller

"Sheri, we're so grateful for everything you did to help us find a place to live! You are a rare combination of practical & soulful, just what we needed to ground us in our anxious quest for a new abode. We're very happy with our house in El Cerrito!
"

A & R

El Cerrito buyers

"I would recommend Sheri Madden without reservation to anyone wishing to list or sell their home. My parents passed away leaving us with a very old --early 1900's-- home with many, many issues. To complicate matters I live in another state. Sheri went far and above my expectations--she was patient, very knowledgeable in all areas--both in Real Estate matters as well as those needed to complete the transaction ( great marketing strategies, structural inspections, termite inspections, estate liquidators, finding very old documents, dealing with complicated easements, convoluted title searches, and the complex requirements of the City in which the house exited.) She never failed to communicate immediately answering my many questions and concerns--I admit I was NOT an easy client to deal with. She exceeded all expectations going far beyond what you would expect a "normal" Realtor to do which allowed the home to close in record time.
"

LW

Berkeley seller

"Sheri worked with us to find exactly what we were after in a house. She has a ton of experience in the area and knows the right questions to ask. In a hard market like the one we bought our house in she had the tenacity and motivation to get us on the top of the stack and got our deal closed quickly.
"

Mitch and Raleigh

Oakland buyers

"I have worked with Sheri for a nearly a year looking to buy my first home. I had worked with another realtor before with whom I was just not a good fit. Sheri graciously took me on. She was patient, calm and realistic about the changing market while remaining encouraging. My second bid on a short sale house was accepted out of 18 offers due to her counseling me on a competitive offer. The process took approximately 3 months to complete. She kept me updated the whole time and worked well with all the parties involved to close the sale. I know they appreciated her professionalism and pleasant demeanor as did I. I would recommend Sheri Madden without reservation as a competent, kind and knowlegible realtor."

Bronwyn

Richmond buyer

"We were referred to Sheri Madden by my husband's friend, who told us she was fabulous. I soon found out she had gotten houses for most of my coworkers, who also said the most fantastic things about her. We met with another Realtor as well, someone who seemed very focused on "closing the deal" and warned us about how tough the real estate market was, how it would take us 8 months to get a home. Sheri had none of that attitude. She was realistic, aware of the challenges but always seemed optimistic for us. It was this optimism that kept me looking. Sheri was also always looking, she kept her eyes open, went to homes before we did, knowing our limited schedule and what we were looking for. She gave us objective advice when it was not a good choice; it was clear she wanted us to have the right house, not just close a deal. When we finally found a place we wanted (which took only one month), Sheri quickly wrote up a bid, gave perfect advice about how to get our offer accepted and clearly used her great professional and personal skills to secure our bid. The escrow process was by far the most challenging aspect. Sheri was a tireless advocate on every level. She kept up with deadlines, worked with the bank and kept her cool even at the most stressful moments. She was fantastic about working with the sellers agent and was extremely patient with us as new home buyers, wading through the challenges. I spent the last several weeks of the home buying process trying to figure out what kind of gift to get her. My husband kept reminding me the best we could do it refer people to her. I can't say enough kind words about her expertise, care and work ethic. She was the best choice we could have possibly made. "

Tami and Alan

Berkeley buyers

"Sheri Madden helped me buy my first home in Berkeley in a coveted neighborhood and at a time when there is a lot of competition for few homes available. I feel very fortunate to have had her invaluable help in making this a reality! The beautifully remodeled house I found turned out to have some worrisome disclosures—a culverted creek running below the property had collapsed some years prior, resulting in an unstable foundation and a lawsuit. Repairs had been made and it appeared that everything was in good shape now, but of course I wanted assurance that the problem was really solved. Sheri found the right engineering contacts to talk with and we learned enough about the work that had been done to feel comfortable moving forward with an offer. Sheri’s hard work and valuable connections helped me thoroughly vet the property in a short time. When it came to making an offer, Sheri seemed to be a walking encyclopedia of local market knowledge. Initially, she said that what I had available to offer would probably give me a 50-50 chance of getting the house. I didn’t like those odds, and I was able to find another $15,000 to add to the offer. Sheri also gave me valuable feedback on the offer letter I wrote. I was so thrilled to hear that my offer was accepted—even though I was not the highest bidder! But the story was not over yet. Inspection revealed that there were several problems with the house that had not been disclosed. Sheri was a strong advocate for getting the sellers to fix these things, and accomplished this in such a way that I always felt very comfortable having her as my representative. The sellers consented to bringing the house into great condition by the time of closing, even though this ended up taking a lot more work than originally planned. She negotiated this with the sellers while keeping great relations with everyone. The sellers’ agent stated several times that it helped that I was working with such a great agent. I couldn’t agree more! Many thanks to Sheri, I am now living in my new home, a dream come true. I highly recommend her as an agent. Lisa Berkeley buyer "

Lisa G

Berkeley buyer

"We were first-time home buyers in the U.S., and were fortunate to have Sheri Madden as our agent. Throughout the process Sheri supported us with personal dedication, utmost competence, and great patience. After a few months, she helped us buy a beautiful Berkeley home through skillful negotiation. We could not have wished for a better partner, and would work with Sheri Madden again any time. Peter and Aiqun, Berkeley "

Peter and Aiqun

Berkeley buyers

"Sheri came highly recommended as an agent who really went to bat for her clients, willing to go above and beyond to get the best possible outcome. She was all of that. In addition she provided a sensitive, steadying hand in helping navigate the emotionally challenging moments of a sales transaction, being consistently available, responsive and fair-minded. I heartily recommend her."

N.H.

Kensingtn seller

"I was fortunate enough to have Sheri Madden represent me as a home buyer. My brother recommended her to me and she was a great fit! She was patient during the many months of visits to houses and some failed bids. Yet when the right house came along, she was aggressive to get what I wanted. Throughout the process, she had the experience and connections to make things happen to my advantage. And even after the close, she has been very helpful with recommendations getting the house in shape. I would recommend Sheri to anyone looking for their next home!"

D.L.

Oakland buyer

"Thank you for all your help. My Dad expressed that he was really glad that I had referred you and that you had done a great job. He appreciates how much work you put in to get the place ready. I have worked with you twice, once to sell my own home and once to sell my parents' home after they moved to a senior community. Both times you were an invaluable partner, handling all the myriad details, so that everything went smoothly. I would recommend you without hesitation. "

J Garbarino

daughter of Ricardo seller

"I realize that you did a good deal more than the usual requirements in connection with the sale of the house. Thank you for your sterling efforts."

J Garbarino

Ricardo seller

"We would like to highly recommend Sheri Madden to anyone who is buying or selling a home in the East Bay. Sheri assisted us with the purchase of our new home in Albany, as well as the sale of our home in Berkeley. Sheri has all the qualities of a realtor we were looking for - knowledgable, trustworthy, dedicated, patient, and personable. While working with Sheri, we always felt like we were her only client, although we were certain that wasn't the case. Sheri always worked around our busy schedule, and was more than willing to meet when it was convenient for us. We were always impressed by the promptness of her return phone calls and emails. Additionally, Sheri was available to make phone calls, set up appointments and meet with the various people involved in the buying/selling of a home when we weren't able to do so. We sincerely appreciate Sheri's hard work and dedication and wouldn't hesitate to recommend her to anyone looking for a great real estate agent!"

Corby and Bob

Berkeley Sellers and Albany Buyers

"My Experience Working with Sheri Madden: I found Sheri to be a model real estate agent: efficient, experienced, knowledgable, and always there when I needed her. Had it not been for Sheri, the purchase of my home would have been difficult and time consuming. I am very pleased to recommend Sheri to potential home buyers; she is trustworthy and keeps her client's interest at heart."

Alice

Berkeley buyer

"Sheri Madden truly is a dream real estate agent. When we first met with her, Sheri listened to us with an open mind and understood all the many qualities of what we wanted in a house. Many of those requirements kept changing as we saw more houses, and Sheri was great at adapting to those changes. She saved us a lot of time and hassle by only showing us houses that we had a good chance of liking. Sheri has an almost encyclopedic knowledge of all the houses in this area. We often would ask about houses that just got listed and almost always she had already seen the house and told us all the details about it. It took us from July 2011 to June 2012 to become homeowners, and for that time, Sheri was always positive and energetic. In the beginning, we were completely ignorant of the home buying process. Sheri was very patient with us as we figured out how to get our offers accepted. She showed us houses in the evenings and on weekends, read countless disclosures and summarized them for us, and helped us write offers so that they had a good chance of being accepted. She was very accurate at predicting what price a house would sell for and we learned to trust her. Sheri was immensely helpful once we got our offer accepted. Sheri made sure all the paperwork was completed quickly, suggested specialized inspections that we should do on the house and successfully negotiated a credit for repair work. She was very punctual regarding appointments and returning phone calls and she helped us keep track of the various other real estate players such as loan agents and home inspectors. Sheri was even willing to watch our 7 month old baby while we were busy crawling under the house during our general home inspection. Lastly, Sheri's personality and personal motivation are outstanding: it was always such a joy to chat with her and it was apparent that she was interested in helping us as people and not for monetary reasons. Overall, we are extremely grateful to have worked with Sheri and we highly recommend her. "

J and A

first time Berkeley buyers

"Before finding Sheri Madden of Marvin Gardens Real Estate, my biggest concern was finding a real estate agent whom I could trust, someone with integrity and with our best interests in mind. There are so many agents out there; it can make your head spin with all the choices. A friend recommended a wonderful agent to me, but she was going to be out of state when we needed to get started with the selling process. That agent, Arlene Acuna, referred me to Sheri saying, “…having a desk near her in the same office and seeing her "in action" on the phone, along with my personal interactions with her over the years have clearly shown me that she is a true advocate for her clients, putting their interests first while advising them with wise counsel! I would recommend her to any friends/relatives/clients!”And she was right. Sheri is a real class act. When you first meet her, your initial impression will probably be the same as mine: she’s nice, kind, and has a good sense of humor. But make no mistake about it, she’s a professional. She is sharp, extremely knowledgeable, and a very hard worker. Her networking skills have forged wonderful contacts in both the real estate and general community. If you have a question or concern, she will find the answers or the services you need. She doesn’t gloss anything over, yet at the same time will make your home shine. She will guide you through the process step by step and tell you exactly what the house needs to maximize its potential and sell quickly. Have no doubt, she will be your champion. Sheri recognizes the value of a home, both financially and sentimentally. Hearing all the glowing remarks about my house and knowing how much the new owners truly love it themselves, makes the process of leaving my beloved, beautiful home easier. Sheri made that happen with her constant support, “can do” attitude, and her humor. Thanks Sheri, you’re the best; you’ve been both my real estate agent and my friend. "

L.B.

Curtis resident

"I want to share with everyone just how impressed I was with my recent home sale, using Sheri Madden as our agent. If you are considering buying, or selling a home and have the opportunity to utilize Sheri as your agent I recommend it. Sheri takes her career seriously, treats each person involved professionally, and while I know that I am not her only client, I felt throughout the entire transaction as though I had her full attention whenever I needed it, and I can assure you as a first time seller I had my fair share of random questions, at random times. Sheri always replied to my emails promptly, answered my phone calls and questions as I needed. I can say through her hard work and professionalism, that even in today’s volatile market, our house sold quickly. I from the beginning and until the very end of the process felt very comfortable, and confident that Sheri was doing everything she could to represent, and keep my family informed. I remain confident today that she has her clients’ best interests at heart and I am pleased to have been her client, and wouldn’t hesitate to use her again. "

Jonathan B.

Tulare seller

"My wife and I worked with Sheri Madden of Marvin Gardens. You can find her contact info at sherimadden.com.We just closed on a house after months of picky searching and I am so glad we decided to work with her. There is no pretense and no pressure to make offers. She is so sweet and knowledgeable and quick to respond by phone or email. Schedule a face-to-face meeting with her and you'll understand. She spent well over an hour with us at our first meeting, before we had even decided to work with her, and it spoke to the passion she has for helping clients find homes. I'd recommend her to both friends and family, which I hate doing if I'm unsure of the quality of service someone will experience. With Sheri, I have no doubts. "

Chris

" Sheri Madden came to me highly recommended by close friends, and she met and exceeded my expectations. I was moving from the East Coast to the Bay Area, and Sheri, having done that herself several years ago, really knew where I was coming from (pun partially intended!) She quickly came to understand the type of house I was searching for, had a finely-nuanced knowledge of the various neighborhoods of Berkeley and Oakland, always made herself available by phone or email to patiently answer even the most naive of questions, and knew quite a number of high-quality contractors to consult for advice and estimates. She even went above and beyond and provided me with some contacts for my new job search. I felt that she was trustworthy and realistic and handled everything with grace. I am grateful to her for her help. If it ever comes time for me to sell my home, I wouldn't consider anyone but Sheri to be my realtor. "

Susanna P.

Berkely buyer

"From the very beginning, we were impressed with Sheri's honesty, integrity, professional expertise, and knowledge about the neighborhoods we were seeking to buy in. We came to trust her instantly as we always felt that she had our best interest in mind and patiently answered all of our questions, and always with a speedy turn around. She quickly came to learn about our preferences and showed us homes that might be a good match, even during a time of very low inventory. She was especially helpful in maximizing our chances of getting our bid accepted, helped us to negotiate the purchase price, and walked us through every single step of escrow. She has contacts for every scenario which made the entire process of home buying very effecient and as stress-free as it could be. Having worked with several real estate agents in the past, we would love to work with Sheri again and definitely recommend her to anyone thinking about buying or selling. She makes it easy! Thank you Sheri for making this such a positive experience! We are so pleased with the outcome. "

Sunny and Bill

El Cerrito buyers

"June 29, 2011 From: Faith Cornwall & Bruno Coelho 1236 Parker St, Berkeley CA 94702 Re: Letter of Recommendation for Sheri Madden To Whom It May Concern: We would like to wholeheartedly recommend Sheri Madden as a buyer’s real estate agent. We bought a house in May 2011 with her guidance and were very happy with her services. We came to Sheri in January 2011 with a pretty good idea of what we wanted: a young couple with no children yet, we were looking to take advantage of the buyer’s market to purchase a home that we could afford now but would accommodate our future family, both in terms of size, amenities and school district. Due to the fact that our parents and siblings live many time zones away, we also needed some kind of guest quarters, such as an in-law unit, to accommodate long visits. Here is what we appreciated most about working with Sheri. 1.) Really Listening: After hearing a whole lot about our guest quarter needs, Sheri showed us some houses without in-law units but with floor plans that could potentially work for us. This listening and creative thinking was a great help, as it got us thinking outside the in-law unit/duplex box, and eventually led us to a single family home whose floor plan wonderfully accommodates long term guests. 2.) Neighborhood knowledge: Sheri knows the East Bay well and could talk to us about how school districts performed over time, and how neighborhoods had changed. 3.) Prompt communication: Sheri always answered our emails, voicemails and text messages promptly, usually within a few minutes or hours. 4.) Availability: We met with Sheri in the early mornings and late evenings and everything in between. Her flexibility was a great help. 5.) Process and paperwork knowledge: Sheri patiently explained all the ins and outs of the process of buying as many times as we needed to hear it. We ended up putting in a back-up offer on the house we eventually bought, a process which not everyone goes through but went smoothly for us thanks to Sheri. 6.) Neighbors: Sheri encouraged us to talk to the neighbors before buying, even going so far as to make an introduction for us. We eventually met neighbors from five different households before closing, and these connections helped us to realize that this was the neighborhood for us. 7.) Connections: Sheri has great working relationships with key supporting players. She referred us to a wonderful mortgage broker who got us a great rate, great title company, and lined up a whole host of tradesmen – electrician, home inspector, structural engineer, plumber, etc – to all come to the house on the same day and on short notice before we removed our inspections contingency, saving us a lot of hassle. 8.) Crafting the Bid: We got the house we wanted at the price we wanted to pay, and Sheri was instrumental in making this happen. She used every piece of information in our favor she could without gouging the buyer and writing an offer that would have been rejected. 9.) Resale Value: As we intended to live in the house past our mortgage, resale value was not top of mind. Sheri kept an eye out for us, noting issues with potential houses that we would have been unaware of or overlooked. 10.) Dealing with whatever life throws you: We went into contract on a house two weeks before we were set to leave the country for two weeks. We left for our trip as planned and went into escrow within thirty six hours of returning. Easy as (store bought) pie – thanks Sheri! We wish you the best of luck in your home search process! "

Faith and Bruno

Berkeley buyers

"Sheri made the purchase of our new home incredibly fast, easy and pleasant. Before getting an agent, we had watched the listings online for a long time and were concerned about finding something that fit our somewhat unusual needs. After only meeting with us once followed by some email conversations, Sheri honed in on what we wanted and found the perfect house for us. In fact, because her instincts and knowledge were so spot on, we ended up only seeing a few houses with her before making a bid on the home that we purchased. She also made the bidding, financing, inspection, and closing process easy because of her high level of expertise and network of professionals (from mortgage brokers to home inspectors) that were experienced, trustworthy, and were willing to come on short notice. Sheri herself was always available when we needed her and got things done rapidly and efficiently without sacrificing quality and thoughtfulness. Sheri gave us honest and straightforward advice, letting us know when she thought houses were not a good choice for us and why and guiding us wisely through the bidding and closing process. We think her advice helped us get our bid accepted at a price that was fair. She is a great listener and was respectful of what we wanted, while constructively giving us her input. We felt very comfortable with Sheri, which is why we chose her in addition to her expertise. We appreciated her calm demeanor during what can be a stressful time.We also appreciated her patience in waiting for us after we signed on with her but had a couple of months lag time before we were ready to act. Overall Sheri is a fabulous agent - kind, talented, knowledgeable,and professional and we would highly recommend her to anyone buying a home in the El Cerrito/Berkeley/Albany area."

Rachel and Mike

"Hello Sheri, Now that we're getting settled in to our new house, we wanted to take a minute to thank you for all the help and guidance you provided for us. We are extremely happy with the house and the neighborhood, and we are so grateful to you for making the process so stress-free and satisfying. We previously owned a house in San Francisco, so we have worked with agents twice before, buying and selling. The first time was with an agent with whom we had a great personal relationship, but we felt her lack of experience was a problem as the negotiations intensified. The second agent was much more experienced, but we came to wonder whether she was keeping our best interests in mind. This time, we felt that we had a great personal connection with you, and we really appreciated your experience and expertise at every stage of the process, whether it was helping us pick out the house, setting a price, going through the inspections, or handling the paperwork for the closing. We always felt confident that you were giving us good advice, that you understood the process, and that you were attuned to our needs. You helped us select an offering price that we were comfortable with and which was attractive to the sellers. And your recommendations for the inspector, electrician, seismic technician and handyman have all worked out great for us. When you walked through the house with us, both when we were first looking and later during the inspections, your eye for detail and candid advice were greatly appreciated. You were always available when we had questions, conscientious about getting us answers, and unfailingly pleasant to deal with. We know from experience that buying (or selling) a house is a huge undertaking and can be very stressful. Really, we cannot say enough about how much you did to make the process go smoothly for us. We would enthusiastically recommend you to anyone who is looking to buy or sell a house in Berkeley. We hope to see you in the neighborhood. Thank you once again for all your help. "

Anne Lackey and Kevin Rayhill

Berkeley buyers

"There probably could not be two people more disinterested in the idea of working and spending time with a realtor, than the two of us. We were buying our first home and after having met with a number of realtors, opted to employ the tactic of having the seller's agent write an offer on our behalf. Unfortunately, this was a disappointing and negative experience. We then sought the advice of our mortgage broker, who had been working with us for almost two years. He recommended Sheri to us, whom he thought would suit our personalities and style. He was right – she was great! Energetic, meticulous and knowledgeable, she educated and provided us with valuable insight and advice. Further, we thoroughly enjoyed her company. In a short time, we found ourselves closing on an amazing home that is just perfect for us. We highly recommend working with Sheri."

Mala S. and Brad S.

"We recommend our wonderful realtor, Sheri Madden. She has expertly guided us through our first home sale. She has been attentive, professional, thorough, and calm throughout the entire stressful process. She is a gem!"

Jennifer L. and Hal A.

Sellers of 152 York Avenue, Kensington

"Sheri Madden is a patient, knowledgeable guide through the process of buying a home. She spent the better part of a year helping me to find a home I love. Her expertise about what was available and her wisdom about the buying process, made a potentially stressful process far easier and she made herself available to me throughout and after the purchase. I would recommend her without reservations."

Jonathan S.

"In one word, Sheri was fabulous. She was very patient and answered every question in simple language. She would come to our house at whatever hour was convenient for our kids schedules. She was always right on the ball, followed through with every detail immediately, and gave reasonable, carefully thought-out advice. We didn't think we would ever find a house of our own that we could afford...and we did! Above all, Sheri was friendly and it was a joy to share the experience of buying our first house with her. Thank you!! "

Pato and Curtis

Berkeley buyers

"It was a real pleasure to work with you from beginning to end. When you were discussing strategy with me and reviewing the house you were positive without being overly optimistic. When we were making decisions as we got closer to the time of putting the house on the market you noticed details and followed up on all the many issues that necessarily present themselves during a house sale. You were proactive and knowledgable without being a nag or a downer; you managed to make selling a house almost relaxing. When you said you would do something, you did it, and I could be confident that it would be done correctly and respectfully for everyone involved. I really think our cautious strategy paid off in this difficult market and I give you the credit for keeping us realistic about pricing, etc. The brochure was nicely done and the house was presented well by you and your team. Of course we had a lot of work to do to get the place ready, but you were an excellent source of information and referrals and the experts you recommended (the landscape designer and the stager) were both just what the place needed. I wish I had another house that needed selling! No wait, no I don't, but if I had to go through that again, I'd definitely hire you! Thanks so much again."

E.H.

"I never thought that buying our first house would be so easy but, well, it really was with Sheri's guidance. When my partner and I were looking, she truly respected our price range, schedules and our needs. I feel she was especially valuable after our bid was accepted.... her expertise led us through the chaos and speed of the inspections and contractor meetings so we could get the best value for our home. Sheri was there, holding a flashlight, when the 3rd foundation expert was inspecting a crack in the dark! Now that we're in our awesome house, Sheri continues to be a resource. Should I also say that I'm convinced your sweet and warm demeanor has something to do with our bid getting accepted? Thanks again and again and again. "

K and L

CA St buyers

"We are writing to let you know how satisfied we are with our recent experience locating and buying a home in the Berkeley hills. Your agent, Sheri Madden, was truly a joy to work with. Sheri pleasantly surprised us by repeatedly gathering information for us when most agents would not have taken the time, all the while exhibiting good humor ant the utmost patience with our concerns and questions. She never once left us feeling that we were overburdening her or wasting her time. But patience and hard work are not the whole story: expertise is also key. Sheri deftly handled negotiations, read the cards right, and availed herself of various contacts to obtain important information. She handled our transactions with skill, tact, and enthusiasm. We were able to have two offers accepted in an extremely competitive market. (We chose to back out of the first offer, thanks to keen observations from a home inspector whom Sheri recommended.) As I'm sure you know, house-hunting in the current market can be emotionally exhausting for buyers, and finding a good agent is of paramount importance. We will certainly give Sher's name to anyone we know or meet who may be looking for an agent. We heartily recommend Sheri to any potential customers of yours, and would be glad to speak with them to answer questions they might have."

Doug and Jane K.

"To whom it may concern, This is a letter describing our experience buying a house with Sheri Madden. In short, Sheri did a great job. First she helped us with finding the house. This meant identifying what we wanted. We went through a couple of houses together describing what we liked and did not like. She was good at quickly understanding both the tangibles (like price and square footage) and the intangibles (like the feel and the neighborhood). After that, Sheri knew what types of houses we were interested in, and brought to our attention only houses we wanted to seriously consider. She also helped us prioritize our requirements. With her facilitation it quickly became clear that we could not get everything we wanted for the price we wanted. She helped us identify what was important and what we could do without. Then she helped us buy the house. She worked with us to identify sources for funding and insurance. She worked with us on strategizing our offer, and identified comparables to help us decide what was a fair price. She marshaled all the resources necessary to get the offer to close without ever making us feel rushed I would recommend Sheri without reservation. Maclen Marvit New home owner. "

Maclen Marvit

"Sheri came highly recommended and she absolutely lived up to all of the high praise. I thought we were being unrealistic when I told her what we hoped to find in Berkeley, but within weeks, Sheri had found exactly the right house. She encompasses so many different qualities: she is warm and personable, yet realistic and grounded; she's active and enthusiastic yet measured, patient, and flexible. She doesn't miss any details and keeps you on track during the closing chaos. Most importantly, she's well-respected among other agents, and that goes a long way in a tight market. Sheri is the ideal advocate in today's challenging real estate market."

S.S.

Berkeley buyer

"Sheri has helped us sell numerous homes over the last several years. She has always exceeded our expectations, so we turned to her when it became time to sell a small rental property. She organized and attended many required inspections. As each inspection revealed new problems, she strategized the best way to tackle each obstacle . Mid way through this process I became disabled- but Sheri carried on. She prioritized repairs and redecorating, providing me with multiple bids and contractors who were both affordable and could do a fast turn around. The result was a seamless process for me, culminating in a successful sale to my tenant. If I had more properties to sell, there is no one else I would consider to represent me. I could not be more pleased! "

Lynne Costain

Oakland seller

"We have worked with Sheri Madden and could not have been more pleased with her abilities as a real estate professional. We procured the services of several realtors from all over the Bay area during the course of our home search and Sheri was by far the most diligent, well-prepared and most accommodating real estate agent we encountered. Her detailed knowledge of a home's features, coupled with her familiarity with the nuances of a particular neighborhood, truly was outstanding. She had a knack for knowing if a prospective home would appeal to us and her numerous updates on upcoming opportunities clearly showed she "does her homework". Sheri went above and beyond the call of duty for us. We're sure she will do the same, and more, for any of her clients."

Joe and Lyn G.

"I was a first time homebuyer with a very limited income and Sheri was the first agent I have ever met who was encouraging and enthusiastic, and persistent enough to find me several choices in my price range! She is so caring and kind, and on top of that, an ace negotiator. Sheri removed all the stress of buying a home for me."

E.P.

"December 29, 2008 To Whom it May Concern: We recommend real estate agent Sheri Madden without hesitation. Before Sheri, we worked with two other agents, but we never felt that they were listening to us or working for us. With Sheri, it was the opposite. Sheri paid attention to everything we told her, and then actually went out and found a house that perfectly fit our needs. We would not have found the house without her. We also greatly appreciated her honest feedback through the process. Sheri steered us away from houses that she thought would not be a good investment and always pointed out the short-comings of any house, as well as the positive qualities that would matter to other buyers in the future. In the end, she found us a great house and also saved us time and money. Even after the deal was closed, she continued to provide us helpful referrals for contractors and tips for easing our transition. Sheri is a great agent to work with. Sincerely, Natasha Minsker and David Billingsley "

Dave and Natasha

"When I started the process of getting my house ready for sale, I was introduced to Sheri Madden. Since then, I have never ceased to be amazed at the amount of sheer hard work, time, and attention to detail, she was prepared to invest in this. No problem was too big, or too small, for her to solve. She also found the personnel to assist me in overcoming obstacles. Her experience and knowledge of what needed to be done was invaluable. All contacts between us were friendly, positive, and fruitful. I doubt whether I would have managed without her constantly being available. By the time the house came on the market, it looked great! It soon produced several good offers. The sale went through last week. I would not hesitate to recommend Sheri! "

Babette S

Lincoln seller

"We would like to strongly recommend real-estate services provided by Sheri Madden. Sheri worked with us for a two and a half month period while we were searching for a home to purchase in Berkeley, and she helped us in several major ways. She is very informed about the housing market in the Berkeley-Albany-Kensington area, and is frequently aware of houses just coming on the market as well as those currently available. She was highly attentive to detail about what we desired in a home, and she showed us many houses in the Berkeley area that were consistent with our housing needs. She is most patient with clients who want to see various options. She is extremely knowledgeable about housing issues ranging from the technical issues such as the foundation or wiring to aesthetic issues such as wall coloring and placing of furniture in the home. For example, she took time to check city records on the house we purchased to see if improvements had been done with permits. In addition, she is knowledgeable about neighborhood qualities, and environmental issues such as slide and fire risks in different areas of the region. Sheri is also an astute judge of what price a house will sell for versus the list price, and is straightforward in conveying that information to her clients. When she draws up a bid, she takes time to find out how many other bids are likely to be submitted, and how competitive the bidding will be. Finally, during escrow Sheri continued to provide support through the many hurdles associated with obtaining financing and planning for repair work that would be needed. We are most grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Sheri Madden."

James L. and Patricia W.

2081 Eunice Street, Berkeley

"About a year ago, we decided we wanted to move from El Cerrito to Berkeley. Since we had no time pressure, we were prepared to wait for the perfect house, and we had very different criteria in mind. To put it bluntly, we were both very picky, and not always in the same way! Sheri did a great job of finding a house that satisfied both of us perfectly. She helped us overcome a number of challenges that came up, both in buying the new house and in selling the old one. Throughout the process, her judgement was good and her calm manner reassuring. She was always available by phone and email, very knowledgeable about the market, and friendly and pleasant to interact with. She has a deep rolodex and was able to arrange for contractors of all kinds to give us advice, even at short notice. We would very highly recommend Sheri to anyone looking to buy or sell a house. "

John MacFarlane and Colleen Boyle

2311 Edith St sellers

"During a one year project, your agent, Sheri Madden, successfully sold six single family Kensington residential income properties that had been owned by our family for more than 50 years. With her assistance, a marketing plan was put together that brought results over the asking price. She was diplomatic but direct with our tenants, none of which vacated during the course of these sales. Sheri participated in all parts of the project, beginning with multiple trips to the county seat to resolve zoning issues. She organized and attended home inspections, procured estimates from contractors for repairs, set up surveys to determine boundaries, and worked with public utilities to cure water leaks, which mysteriously appeared on one property during escrow. She was calm and patient throughout. Sheri is supported by a long list of knowledgeable professionals, such as home inspectors, contractors and soils engineers, who have worked with her through her years in the field. Most importantly, these professionals made themselves available on very short notice to work through issues as they arose. While Sheri always appears quiet and calm, she is nevertheless a shrewd negotiator, strongly representing her client’s interests. We appreciated her timely follow up on every detail in this very complex transaction. Her comprehensive real estate experience was invaluable. We could not be happier in our choice of agent. DR & LRC "

DR and LRC

"Sheri Madden represented u s in the sale of one home (in unincorporated Contra Costa County), and the purchase of another (in Albany). As the necessary activities for the sale and purchase overlapped, this was a very busy time. Sheri provided extensive services as an agent, volunteering to help with the many extra phone calls, meetings, and coordination needed to complete the process of selling and buying. After thorough discussions with us, she prescreened homes to show us, helping to narrow our search when we did not have time to spare to visit a large number of homes for sales. Sheri took the time to explain the simplest and most complex aspects of negotiating both the sale and the purchase. She presents her strategies convincingly, and with the confidence of experience. Additionally, whenever she sensed we could use assistance, she was there to close the gap on everything from meeting with stagers and painters to securing estimates from contractors. Sheri even continued to be available after the close of both transactions, happy to provide to us phone numbers and recommendations for contractors. In short, Sheri was a close ally in the entire process, and showed genuine concern for our individual needs and experiences. Don't be fooled by Sheri's amiable nature and helpful approach to representing sellers and buyers; she is a well-organized and shrew negotiator who ensures the terms of real estate transactions are to her clients' benefit. We wholeheartedly recommend Sheri Madden for your real estate needs in the East Bay. "

Beverly K. and Hugh S.

"We along with another couple, recently purchased a duplex in Oakland off Park Boulevard just below 580. Our buyer's agent was Sheri Madden, whom we would highly recommend to any prospective client. Sheri personable, is sensitive to the needs of her clients, takes a leadership role, and truly has the best interests of her clients in mind. What impressed us the most was that Sheri listened closely to us and really took the time to understand what we were looking for. This was a particular challenge since there were 4 buyers involved with our purchase! She was effective at finding properties that might suit our needs and weeded out those that were not suitable. She also presented the prospective properties in an unbiased manner, pointing out the pros and cons. She was not pushy, an allowed us time to evaluate each property. Once we decided to make an offer on the property we eventually purchased, Sheri was very proactive in contacting the seller's agent to closely monitor the bidding process and take steps so that we were in the strongest possible position to succeed with our offer. After our offer was chosen, Sheri successfully negotiated a further reduction in the sales price based on new disclosures. In the end, we paid only $5K over the asking price! Sheri really goes the extra mile: When there was a problem with location for signing the papers, Sheri arranged for a special session with another escrow agent. And even when there was a problem after the close of escrow, Sheri pursued the issue until we were compensated fairly. Throughout the process, Sheri guided us every step of the way. She had all the necessary contacts to refer us to people we were comfortable working with for financing, inspections and insurance, and she continues to be a valuable resource for recommendations on skilled tradespeople. Overall, our homebuying experience was greatly enhanced by having Sheri Madden on our side. We would be happy to provide further details on our experience."

Sara G. and Jeff M.

"It is important for you to know that Sheri Madden is an excellent real estate agent. Since the first day we spoke, Sheri was consistently diligent, patient, knowledgeable, friendly and well prepared. Her expertise combined with her ability to communicate made us feel educated and confident in our decisions, and her organizational skills enabled us to plan in advance, so we never felt rushed or anxious. Not only was our home purchase technically easy and fast, but it was also enjoyable, in part to Sheri's pleasant personality. Josh and I were also impressed with her ability to successfully be a mom as well as a professional, a truly remarkable feat. Sheri was highly recommended to us by a trusted friend, and I would certainly recommend her to a friend looking to buy or sell a home. We just wanted you to know what a valuable asset Sheri is to your company."

Alisa C. & Josh G.

Richmond

"Thank you for being such a great agent. I'm glad you were on my side!! "

P.S.

Seller